Bliss

That feeling of pure joy. Pure contentment. I’m grateful to say I’ve felt that this weekend.

My youngest daughter, Talee, is away for the summer studying abroad. My older daughter, Mackenzie, lives about an hour away from home. She’s a business woman, and extremely busy with her job and independent life.

I’ve adjusted to being an empty nester. But I desperately miss my sweet girls!

Mackenzie has been super stressed working on a job promotion, so she wanted to have a “chill” weekend with my husband and me. We were more than happy to welcome her home. I savored our long, leisurely meals, talking and laughing for hours. We had a great time shopping for dishes and decorative pieces for her new apartment, and of course, for clothes and shoes. Mackenzie and I cooked together and cuddled in bed watching TV. I treasured every minute.

We reconnected.

As my daughters are getting older, reconnecting is more important than ever. Sometimes I feel as if we’re growing apart. I want to give them space. They need to discover things about themselves without me. But I still want to feel needed, and be an active part of their lives. I love to hear about their jobs, their courses at school, and their friends. I want to be kept in the loop.

I’m thankful that I am. My girls tell me stories about their adventures and still seek my opinions and advice. It warms my heart that Mackenzie and Talee genuinely enjoy spending time with me, as I do with them.

Our lives are so hectic and it’s difficult to spend quality time with each other. But we need to, and we must. It feels good to slow down. Not only that, it’s healthy.

To recharge and reconnect.

I’m going outside now, and plop on a lounge chair next to Mackenzie.

Pure bliss.

beach_chair

Photo credit: editmentor.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Bliss

  1. Lovely post. I always enjoy getting to reconnect with my parents. One of the biggest things I miss being so far from home.. Luckily we live during the age of FaceTime. Thank you for following my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

