My Heart is Full

Talee’s back home! For those of you who don’t know, my daughter Talee left in June to study abroad. You can read my post the day she left, here.

Last night my husband and I went to the airport to pick her up. We didn’t see her at baggage claim, where she said she was. I scanned the crowd of travelers, and couldn’t find her.

Then I heard her voice. “Mom!” I turned around and my beautiful twenty year old came running to me. She gave me the tightest, longest hug. Which of course, I returned, even tighter, and even longer. I can’t describe how good it felt to kiss her cheek and run my hand through her hair.

Talee was great at keeping in touch with us throughout her trip. I received countless texts, pictures, and videos. We Face Timed twice. I knew she was fine. But still… a momma worries.

She was thousands of miles away, in countries that she doesn’t speak the language. Traveling can be super stressful. Would she get on the right planes/trains/metros? Would she lose her passport? Would she get sick? Would she have a panic attack?

During the six weeks she was gone, I kept extra busy. I couldn’t go to that place of worry because I feared it wouldn’t end. So many things could go wrong. But I purposely didn’t think about bad things happening to my girl in a foreign land.

I was excited for her to have this adventure of a lifetime with some of her best friends.  I knew it would change her forever, in a positive way. To see how people in other cultures live, take part in their world, and realize our way is not the only way.

I’m proud of how Talee assimilated so easily. She explored, ate new foods I never thought she’d touch, and appreciated the old cathedrals and museums,  and the wealth of history attached to them.

Last night at dinner, as Talee was filling us in on the details of her trip (she has some great stories!), I searched her face to see if she’d changed. She’s more worldly, she’s definitely a more experienced traveler, she’s learned how to handle adversity, and she’s seen things I’ve never seen.

But she’s still my same sweet, fun-loving Talee.

And, she got an A in her international business class.

believed she could

Image courtesy of: http://dailysuperfoodlove.com/227/choose-happiness-inspirational-words-of-wisdom/

12 thoughts on “My Heart is Full

  1. Oh how wonderful to have your daughter home! I applaud you for allowing her to study abroad. You were able to put aside your fears and let her go. And she has returned filled with experience and maturity. Many moms including mine can’t let go. Great job!
    Traci

    Like

  2. What an inspiring post. How amazing your daughter is!!! I can only image the anxiety you as her Mom felt while she was away. But all that you wrote of is right, what a life lesson she has just experienced, how brave of her to venture forth into the world like that! So happy she’s back home with you both now, safe and sound!! Thanks for sharing…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My son, the youngest, and his new wife just got back from a 11 country tour in Europe, Africa and Asia…I was so worried about them, like you I was so happy for them, however I was so worried with all the conflict in the world…long story short they had a wonderful time, saw things I will never see and came home thinking they might want to move to Hamburg Germany….LoL I am so happy for your daughter, it is defiantly a life changing event to travel…good for her, and good for you keeping busy…I had my kids itinerary so every morning I looked it up on the computer where they were and the time difference…LOL and I picked them up at the airport and had one of the best hugs I have had in a long time from my son…LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a wonderful trip for your son and his wife! Sounds amazing! Oh, I can so relate to you! Dozens of times every day I’d look at the time and calculate what time it was for her. Seems like she’d always text me at 4:30am my time to let me know what she’s up to, but I didn’t care what time it was. I worried about world conflicts. I worried about a lot. And I checked her itinerary all the time too! But all is well, just as I knew it would be 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  4. Loved this post. It brought back all the fells and fears I experienced when my son studied abroad. That was almost ten years ago. Where does the time go as our young people grow and mature with lives of their own? It always brings to mind the old song, “Sunrise Sunset” from Fiddler on the Roof.
    Shine On

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thank you so much! Time goes by much too fast. When my girls were babies, people would tell me that, and I’d be like “yeah, yeah, yeah.” Until they started to grow up. Then I realized it goes by in the blink of an eye. And yes, “Sunrise, Sunset” is a perfect song for this! Thanks for the comment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

