Dear Anxiety – by Jenny Marie

Hi Everyone! This is my letter to Anxiety, written for the inspiring Letters to the Mind blog. When I began, I didn’t quite know what to say. But the words kept coming, and it felt like I was pounding them out on the keyboard. I was surprised at how angry I was at Anxiety. Even though I rarely have panic attacks anymore, it was therapeutic for me to write this. Please check out Letters to the Mind and consider contributing. It can help you, and it also can help loved ones to better understand mental illness.

Letters to the Mind

Dear Anxiety,

When I first met you, I was just a child. You terrorized me with panic attacks and wouldn’t leave me alone. It was bad enough you entered my life. It was much worse when you visited my nine year old daughter. Picking on children. How dare you!

I think you got pleasure out of watching, as you overwhelmed us with the horrifying symptoms of panic.

Did you think it was funny to see our hands tremble and our bodies sweat, drenched in fear?

Did you get enjoyment out of making our hearts beat so hard and fast, it felt like they’d jump out of our chests?

Were you pleased when my doctor told me I had agoraphobia?

Did you laugh when I had to pull over to the side of the road because my vision was blacking out?

You probably thought it was hilarious when I nearly had…

View original post 387 more words

11 thoughts on “Dear Anxiety – by Jenny Marie

  1. Oh I love this idea and your letter. Thanks for sharing this! Very inspiring to read. I also followed the website where the full letter is posted. I may contribute to it one day soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

