Dear Mom

P1000160

In honor of Mother’s Day this weekend, I wrote a letter to my mom, thanking her for her role in my recovery from panic attacks.

Here’s the link to my published story on the website called Further Food:

Dear Mom: You Saved Me (Even If You Don’t Realize It)

I was a little nervous to have my mom read it, wondering what her reaction would be. I had nothing to worry about. She loved it! Mom told me she had tears in her eyes and that it was the perfect Mother’s Day gift. She had no idea that something she said to me years ago spurred on my decision to seek medical help. I had the biggest smile on my face, hearing her gush about the letter, and how amazing it feels to be so important in my life.

I want to tell you a little about the website called Further Food . When I first checked it out, I immediately connected to their philosophy of natural ways to feel better. I believe healthy eating is a crucial part of overall well-being, along with exercise and a stress-free (or stress-reduced) lifestyle.

Further Food’s mission statement is “Helping You Eat Better, Feel Better, Naturally.” It’s made up of a community of nutritionists, cooks, doctors, and health heroes. They list medical conditions, and you click on one that relates to you, and get recipes for foods that are beneficial for your condition. In my case, anxiety.

I’m looking forward to this weekend… Mackenzie and Talee are coming home and tonight I’m making a special dinner for my mom to start the weekend celebration!

Happy Mother’s Day!

~Jenny

 

17 thoughts on “Dear Mom

  1. Happy Mother’s Day! Enjoy your time with your mother.
    I, too, agree that a healthy diet, diet, a stress-free lifestyle and sleep are all important for your health.
    I wish you a fantastic weekend. ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My youngest daughter suffers from almost debilitating panic attacks, which are criticized by her siblings and so-called father.
    She said the other day…”who was it that talked to me for hours, calmed me down and talked to me like I was a human being?” My mom….not my dad.
    I don’t know first hand and could never say “I know how you feel” but I do know how I feel to have witnessed my daughter going through it. She hasn’t recovered. She will do alright for a while and then they come back.
    My heart goes out to you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so sorry about your daughter. It’s heartbreaking to watch our kids suffer. You sound like such a good mom, listening to her, calming her, and believing her. Thank you for sharing, and I wish you and your daughter the very best. Take care πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I’m so glad Niki’s blog led you to my blog, so I was able to find your blog! My daughter experiences anxiety attics as well, and both she and I have battled depression. Your writing is very beautiful and touching — I appreciate the Further Food resource too. Will definitely check that out. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

