Be Nice

Last week I focused on the goodness happening around me, the generous things that people do for each other. It was Week Two of The Kindness Challenge, from Niki at The Richness of a Simple Life.

I love the moments when I witness small, seemingly unnoticed acts of kindness. Those that make me go, “Aww, that was SO nice!” Those sweet times can make me smile, or even tear up.

Like when my doctor ordered a blood test last Thursday. His nurse told me she’d leave theΒ  order at the blood draw station, and I could go in in anytime the next day, no fasting required. Both she and the doctor would not be in. Friday morning I arrived to get my blood drawn. But one problem — the nurse couldn’t find the doctor’s order. No order, no blood test. I left, discouraged. I was hopeful to get the results before the weekend. Nothing like worrying the whole weekend.

I ran some errands near the doctor’s office. Before I went home, I decided to go back to the blood station one last time to see if they’d found the order. The nurse apologized, said she hadn’t had any luck. She searched everywhere, and would ask the on-call doctor, but he was out to lunch. I told her I didn’t live that close, so I couldn’t come back that day.

She surprised me when she said, “Let’s just do it. That way I’ll have your blood sample, and later today I’ll get in touch with the doctor.” Really? I knew she was going against protocol, but I was very grateful. I knew she sensed my concern, wanting to know the results. She assured me it would happen that day.

And it did. With good results too.

Later that evening I was talking to my oldest daughter, Mackenzie. I asked her if she’s noticed kindness around her lately. She said, “YES!” She works at a large, international company. Last week was dedicated to community awareness. Mackenzie said some people went offsite to help charities, and some people performed tasks at the office. She joined a team of co-workers who decorated bags for items for the armed forces, and wrote letters to them. She loved participating, knowing it would brighten someone’s day.

It’s often the small things we do for each other that mean the most. It doesn’t take a lot of time or energy to be kind. But that seemingly small act of kindness can make a world of difference for others.

First image courtesy of

Second image courtesy of

 

37 thoughts on “Be Nice

  1. I’m so glad to hear the blood tests came back with good results and in a timely manner. How thoughtful of the nurse! That’s amazing that the company your daughter works for is so focused on the community. What a great thing to do! I’m so glad you were able to see so much kindness around you! You’re going to love next week’s focus πŸ™‚ Just got done writing it. I had the first three weeks done for a while now I’m working on the final three weeks πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see how this week has been πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a hard time not thinking that everything happens for a reason. Glad to hear there was good news about the blood test. Good for the Nurse for taking matters into her own hands, regardless of protocol, and doing what needed to be done to help you. While I believe there is kindness everywhere, the world could always use a bit more. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. these small acts of kindness really erase all the huge acts of meanness and we need more kindness everyday. lovely that someone was kind to you even when it may have cost her something, thats really sincere kindness, not wanting reward for being nice. lovely post on your thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

