Happy Birthday Dear Blo-o-og, Happy Birthday To You!

This time last year, I clicked the button to make my blog public. I’d had it private for almost four months, and didn’t know if it was ever going to be public.

The issue was privacy. The premise of my blog is how a mother with anxiety handles life when her child starts to have panic attacks.My daughter Talee wanted to be sure that her real name wasn’t used. I completely understood, and of course, would honor her request.

I’d heard of authors using a pen name, but had no idea how to deal with this situation. I didn’t want to feel like I wasn’t telling the truth. The whole point was to be open and honest. I wondered if any other bloggers wrote anonymously, and if so, how did they do it?

I read tons of blogs, searching for my answer. Thankfully, I found it. One woman wrote about her daughter who has autism, and used pseudonyms. I modeled some of the structure of my blog to hers.

I’d written about six posts while it was still private. I asked Talee (now in her early 20s), if she wanted to take a look at them, and she did. I sat next to her, as her eyes were fixed on the computer screen, reading stories about life when she was a little girl.

I was surprised by her response. Her eyes welled up and she couldn’t seem to stop the tears.

“Talee, why are you crying?”

“I didn’t realize this is how you felt when I was going through that. I never thought to think of it from your perspective, as a mom. It’s so sad.”

Talee told me she was proud of me, and that my stories could help others.Β  That was the turning point. She gave me her blessing, and that’s exactly what I needed.

And so it began. Private to public.

I hoped people would read, but didn’t expect much. I was intimidated. I wondered if what I had to say was important. Will anyone really care?Β  Soon I met amazing and supportive bloggers. They cheered me on and helped me grow as a writer, as a person, and as a mental health advocate.

When I look back on the posts I wrote this year, I see it as a form of a diary. Personal thoughts are documented, ideas I never dreamed I’d express.

Even though the names on my blog are fictional, the feelings and experiences are all mine. It’s important to me that readers get to know the real me, while I manage to keep my family’s anonymity.

I’m grateful to occupy a little space here on WordPress. I’m thankful to my fellow bloggers for reading, commenting, and encouraging me. I’m excited to see where this next year takes me!

First image courtesy of: See here

Second image courtesy of: See here

74 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dear Blo-o-og, Happy Birthday To You!

  1. What a wonderful story behind your Public Blogs first birthday. I haven’t heard anything quite like it xx Hopefully one day you can share your name. There is still a lot of stigma attached to mental health issues. It is crazy because we all have mental health and we all over our life time suffer from varying degrees of good and bad mental health. We just have different ways to cope and hide our problems. CONGRATS xx

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you, I appreciate that so much! You’re right, there is still a lot of stigma surrounding mental health issues. I actually didn’t realize how widespread the problem is until I started this blog. So I’m trying to speak out about it more and more. This is a great platform to do that. Thanks again! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Going public was a good thing. My daughter has panic attacks and unfortunately, her sisters mock her as a “drama queen.”
    If you can help one person, be they the sufferers of the actual attacks, or the sufferers of having to watch a loved one….then it was well worth it, don’t you think?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jenny, happy birthday on your blog turning 1. Lynn from lynz real cooking included you in her posts today and I wanted to come by and visit. My blog turned 1 last month and I could relate to your words in this post. I hope your day is a happy one. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Glad you saw Lynn’s post, I was happy she posted that. And thanks for visiting, I appreciate it πŸ™‚ Happy Anniversary to your blog! It’s a very nice achievement. Have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. First of all, congratulations to your first anniversary of your wonderful blog. It is wonderful to see that there are others who are advocating for the mental health issues in the society. Mental illness is complex with lots of misunderstanding from those who are not educated. It is great to see more awareness so that others can learn and understand better. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Izrael, that means a lot to me. You’re right, there is much misunderstanding of mental health issues. Awareness takes time, but I truly hope that with more people talking about it, it won’t be such a mystery, and thus, less stigma surrounding it. Thank you for visiting my blog, and for the follow. Have a wonderful week ahead! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

