Just a Thought…

beach dog 008 - Copy (2)

Several months ago, I saw comedian Tracy Morgan interviewed on The Today Show. He’d  been a regular on Saturday Night Live. In 2014, he was in a horrific car crash which left him in a coma. His recovery is nothing short of miraculous.

He talked about how his life has changed and how difficult recovery has been. He said he hoped that one day he’d return to host SNL. And then he said, “Happiness is having something to look forward to.” Such a simple statement, yet packed with so much meaning.

If we don’t have anything to look forward to, we don’t have hope.  I’ve never suffered from depression, but my mom has. She was in such a dark place, she didn’t know how she’d ever get out of it.

Thankfully, hope returned, and she felt that her life was worth living. Antidepressant medication was her miracle.

Every day I think of things I’m excited about, big or small. Maybe I can’t wait to go for a walk in the mountains with my husband and our dog, have lunch with a friend, or spend time in my garden. And there are long term goals to anticipate, like a family vacation, my daughter’s college graduation, or a family member’s wedding.

This week I’m taking my mom to lunch near the beach. I can’t wait!

And neither can she.

 

32 thoughts on “Just a Thought…

  1. I think that’s so true…not having any hope because you have nothing to look forward to. I lost hope years ago…and I don’t care. Drugs work miracles for some…but I won’t use them.
    So wonderful about your mom. I hope she truly finds joy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. Now she’s 80, vibrant, and happy. I know, meds aren’t right for everyone. For years, nothing helped her and she had horrible side effects. But finally, she found something that worked. Take care 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope gives us something to hold on to. Looking forward to things can really keep us going. It’s amazing how much of a difference something so simple can make. It’s what keeps me going, even when I’m afraid I don’t really know what I’ll be capable of, I still try to focus on something good coming down the road.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really love this post, it is so true – when you have something to look forward too it not only motivates you to keep going but it encourages us to find something special in even the smaller things- such as looking forward to meeting for a coffee with someone, or going for a hike – they don’t have to be huge things.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Unite-and-Inspire and commented:
    Really love this post- when you have something to look forward to it not only motivates you to keep going but it encourages us to find something special in even the smaller things- such as looking forward to meeting for a coffee with someone, or going for a bike ride, they don’t have to be huge things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hope – it’s so important to be able to ‘look forward’ to something. I love that word – hope, hopeful – it’s so positive! I’m really glad your mum found it again in her life.. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

