Words of Thanks

 

 

Years ago I gave my mom a birthday present she’ll never forget. A Gratitude Journal. She  says it’s her favorite gift she’s ever received from me. She was turning 65. I bought a blank book, and numbered the pages 1-65. On each page, I thanked her for ways she’d impacted my life.

At first, I thought, “How am I possibly going to think of that many things?” Once I got started, gratefulness gushed out. I brainstormed, and remembered dozens of times she’d supported, loved, and cared for me.

For instance:

“Thank you for making me go to church when I was little. Faith is now a huge part of my life.”

“Thank you for taking me to the beach every Tuesday in the summer.”

“Thank you for going on walks with me. And when we had nothing to say and I thought it was an awkward silence, you told me that when you love someone, you don’t always need to talk.”

I haven’t thought about the  Gratitude Journal for a long time. What reminded me was Week Five of the Kindness Challenge, hosted by Niki of The Richness of a Simple Life.

Here are some of the exercises from Week 5:

  • Keep a journal handy to write details of something kind you’d like to remember
  • Find 5 kind things about your day
  • Focus on the things you have that money can’t buy
  • Say a few words of thanks for the kindness you noticed in your day
  • Let thoughts of today’s kindness be the last place your mind goes as you go to bed
  • Extend the gratitude by expressing it to the people that showed you kindness

I often do several of these on a daily basis. If I’ve had a good day, it’s easy to think of good and kind things that happened. But even if my day didn’t go so well, I still try to focus on the positive. There’s always something.

I make a point to enjoy the little pleasures in life — hearing birds chirp outside my window, picking tomatoes from my garden, or laughing with my daughters.

Kindness and gratitude is all around. It’s up to us to take notice.

 

First image courtesy of here

Second image courtesy of here

 

 

30 thoughts on “Words of Thanks

  1. That’s a fantastic gift! I think it’s something I need to consider doing more of. That would definitely help my mood on days when I feel like everything’s gone wrong. It’s wonderful advice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect timing on your post! My mom turns 80 this coming November, so I’ve been spinning my wheels trying to think of a good present. She doesn’t need any more knick knacks or ‘things’. This would be perfect. Thank you so much for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, perfect! She’s going to love it. My mom just turned 80 too. I’m so glad you like this idea. There are so many pretty journals to choose from. But of course, the gift is what’s written inside 💕 Enjoy the weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

