But I Want to Go Outside!

2 - Copy

This past weekend the weather was warmer. The sun was shining, there was a slight breeze, and it was gorgeous. I had a ton of computer work to get caught up on, bills to pay, and laundry and cleaning to do. But inside was the last place I wanted to be.

I love to garden. I wanted to be in the yard, pulling weeds and dead-heading flowers. I wanted to clean up the area where I’ll soon plant tomatoes and veggies. I wanted my hands in the dirt and to feel the sun’s warmth sink into my skin.

There was no reason I couldn’t do my work and also go outside. I just had to manage my time well, balance my priorities. It’s like a see-saw, with work on one side and play on the other. If I focus on just one of them, I’m lopsided. I’m either stuck in the air with no way to get down. Or I’m planted on the ground, without ever having the joy of swinging upwards.

Life is all about balance.

Some days I do a better job at this than other days. I’m super busy with work, both business and personal. The chores must get done. But it’s also important for me to decompress.

I often remind myself that being productive doesn’t always mean checking things off my never-ending to-do list. Being productive can also mean carving out “me-time” — without feeling guilty about it. Activities that benefit me both mentally and physically.

Here are some of my favorites:

  • Take a walk and get closer to my goal of 10,000 steps per day.
  • Hike in the mountains with my husband and dog.
  • Go to lunch with my mom or friends.
  • Take a bubble bath.
  • Watch TV.
  • Call my sisters.
  • Sit and have a cup of coffee or tea.
  • Read a book or magazine.
  • Exercise. Walk, ride the stationary bike, do yoga or stretching, even if it’s for just fifteen minutes.
  • Brush and pet my dog.
  • Sit in a quiet room and meditate. Breathe in deep and slowly exhale, counting my breaths as I go along.
  • Go outside and listen to the birds while watching clouds float by.
  • Write.

One of the best ways for me to unplug and recharge is to be outside and dig in the earth. Which is exactly what I’m going to do.

The bills and piles of laundry can wait.

IMG_6401 - Copy (2)

31 thoughts on “But I Want to Go Outside!

  1. Not on a per day basis but, if you do the mountain hike, you’ll get closer to your 10,000 step goal. Your favourites list sure is ambitious for a busy person like you. Loved the post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! You’re so right about the mountain hike. And today I went for a hike and was mad because I forgot my pedometer! I really like to see how many steps my walks are. Oh well, it was still good for me πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very true! This past year at college was really rough, even though I made an unusually determined effort to have a more balanced life. I realized that the problem wasn’t that my schedule wasn’t well planned, but that no matter what I did, I felt guilty about it! When I spent hours studying, I was worrying about the sleep I was sacrificing, and when I was with friends, I was worrying about the study time I was sacrificing, and when I was taking care of life, I was worrying about the social time I was sacrificing… there comes a point when you have to be happy just living in ONE moment at a time πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    • Very well said! I can totally relate. You’re so right… the important thing to remember is to be mindful. Happy to be where you are at that moment. I often remind myself of that, and it helps me relax and settle into whatever it is I’m doing. Instead of wishing or thinking I should be somewhere else. Thanks for sharing, what an insightful comment πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  3. “Being productive can also mean carving out β€œme-time” β€” without feeling guilty about it.” this is so true and always worth remembering x great post πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing. I love baths and hikes too and also just lying down on my bed with my cat for some day dreaming and idle snuggling πŸ˜‰ for most of the first half of my life I was very focused on being productive and on working and ‘contributing’ as a way to validate my existence but I’m starting to value the down time now… although ironically i value it because it helps me be more productive too!! gorgeous photos too πŸ™‚ I love this time of year, Em

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Em, thanks so much for visiting here and for the nice comment! You’re right, by relaxing and just ‘chilling’ it makes me more productive. Have to get recharged sometimes. I often think I’d love to go sit outside and read my book, but I always find a hundred other things to do that seem more important. I’ve got to get better at allowing myself time to do more things like that. Glad you like the photos! I love this time of year too! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great way to inspire some unplugged and me time! I agree it is always good for ones well being to take a breather, be it some fresh air outdoors or doing something you enjoy. Hope you enjoyed your quality outdoor time. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. great list….nothing like the feeling of dirt between your fingers…in the desert all I have is sand….so nice to be back here replanting, digging out some, and just sitting in the sun and enjoying all the greet…LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yes! I completely agree. Carving out me-time is productive. I just wish society didn’t always think that being successful is wealth and fame. Being able to take care your mental health is an extreme accomplishment and something we shouldn’t feel guilty about.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post, Jenny! This is my favorite quote: “Life is all about balance.” I recently did an activity with my Leadership Team at school about Values, and I listed Balance as something that I value. Think about what happens to you when you’re out of balance. You painted a vivid picture of what it looks like for you. For me it equals stress and anxiety. Thanks for this post! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I’m happy you relate to this, and that’s great about the activity you did on values. Balance is so important in my life, from work/play to what I eat, to time spent with family and friends. I appreciate your kind words! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh I love this!!!…how true it is…to make time for us…to remember to re-charge and become renewed!!πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€— always worth it!! I have missed tour writing!! Looking forward to diving in!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

