In Need of Motivation

Two weeks ago, my husband and I went to the gym. It was momentous because we hadn’t been since early March, before my surgery. See my post about recuperating here. It felt really good to go, even though I’m definitely out of shape. I rode the bike for about 25 minutes, did stretching and abdomen exercises, and that was it. I was tired and energized at the same time.

I told Alex, “I’m so glad we went. We’re back at it, yay for us!”

We haven’t been back since. Uh oh.

I walk every day, so it’s not like I’m not doing any exercise. It just isn’t enough, I know that. Here’s one excuse: our dog is getting older and can’t walk nearly what he did before. So I take him around the block, which is plenty for him. Not for me. I often tell myself I’ll go home and ride the stationary bike. But I get busy with other things and don’t do it. No excuses, the bike is in our house, right downstairs!

I don’t need to lose weight (well, it’d be nice to lose five pounds). But I do need to tone my muscles and more important than that, I want to feel better and stronger. When I work out, I tend to eat healthier. Exercise is good for my mental health, not just my physical health.

Okay, so I know what I need to do. Get off my computer chair and get on the bike. Or take a longer walk. Or go to the gym.

Every day I have good intentions of doing those things, but the day slips by and before I know it, I’m making dinner. By then I have zero desire to exercise. Last night we were eating fajitas and I was complaining about not going to the gym. Alex said, “Let’s go after dinner.” What? No! That was the last thing I wanted to do.

I need to get out of this rut. Which makes me wonder how I can get motivated. I wonder what motivates other people.

I always think of the Nike ad, “Just Do It.” That’s exactly the advice I need to follow. I’m starting to talk myself into it.

Maybe this afternoon…

First image courtesy of here

Second image courtesy of here

 

 

27 thoughts on “In Need of Motivation

  1. Definetly been in the same boat. I go in and out of motivation. I never like doing it after dinner or past 6 either- but I’ve come to learn that if i miss a day or eat an unhealthy meal, that i don’t stop. i keep going and it works out okay cause then i get back on a healthy track

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly what I need to do. Getting into the habit of working out makes it easier. I got out of the habit after my surgery. I like what you say, about missing a day or eating an unhealthy meal, that you don’t stop. Because it’s easy to say, oh, it’s fine, I ate bad anyway today. So thank you very much for the motivation!! 🙂

      Like

  2. It is incredibly hard to get motivated. I told myself after my surgery I would start walking again and eat healthier….it didn’t last very long unfortunately. I blamed getting busy once I felt better but I think I really just wanted to do other stuff instead. Maybe we need a blogger motivation group lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, that might be a good idea! I’m the same way… I put other things ahead of going to the gym. I can always think of other things I need to do 🙂 but I’m going to put exercise higher on my priority list!

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s what has helped me so much too! My dog needs a walk, so at least I get that in. But now my dog is over 12 and he can’t walk as far as he used to. So it cuts down my exercise. That’s why I need to supplement it, but hard to make the time. My husband keeps joking about getting a puppy! More exercise for sure! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Kat! I did some yard work this weekend and it felt like a work out! I used muscles I haven’t in a long time. I agree, it’s not the same as a good workout, but it’s moving and burning calories 😊 hope you are well and have a great week ahead!🌷

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

