Just a Thought…

IMG_5423 - Copy

I’ve never been much of a risk taker, so I totally identify with this. Sometimes it’s hard to get out of my comfort zone. I’m comfortable there!

But when I try something new, branch out, and reach higher than I thought I could, life can be so much more rewarding.

Sure, there’s a chance of failure. But if I don’t try, I’ll never know. If I don’t climb the mountain, I’ll never see the stunning view.

My husband and I have tried to teach this lesson to our daughters. When Mackenzie and Talee were little, we encouraged them to try new foods, make new friends, and play different sports.

Now that they’re older, we support the girls in their decisions to travel and experience the world. We’ve always tried to instill a sense of adventure and a zest for life. That happens when they push the limits and go beyond their boundaries.

It’s not just about participating in a new activity or eating a dish they’ve never tasted. It’s also about speaking up for themselves and not backing away from what they believe in.Β  That can be really hard to do.

It’s scary to roam and test unfamiliar waters. There will be times when we fail, but that’s okay. We need to allow ourselves to stumble and fall, and then get up and try again.

Because that’s when we find out that we can do it.

Image courtesy of here

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “Just a Thought…

  1. Great post Jenny. I so agree with you and it’s what we’ve always taught our kids too. There is no such thing as failure when we try something new, no matter what the outcome. Life is all about learning and stretching ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great thought, well I’m either “what’s wrong with being comfortable?” Or being like “screw it, I’m going to do it!”. πŸ˜„ But I learned that trying new things will help you find yourself more, it will let you know what you want and what you don’t want. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is such a great piece of life to pass on to our kids the ability to step outside our comfort zone. Like you said, it is hard, because we do feel comfortable in what we already know. But the new people and experiences we make truly help us grow in ways we would never have if we didn’t step out of that comfort zone every once in awhile. I also encourage the same for my step-daughters who are older and who were unfortunately kept shelter from truly finding a sense of adventure or the confidence in meeting new people, it does play a bigger part in their life then they think and has made me recognize encouraging a sense of adventure with my little one. I even touch a bit on it in my recent post here https://inspirememomblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/12/my-journey-into-a-positive-life-part-1/ if you would like to check it out! Enjoyed reading your post and take on Comfort Zones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you relate and see the importance in reaching out of comfort zones. It’s great you’re encouraging your step daughters. It would be a lot harder to try new things if you haven’t done that when younger and aren’t used to it. Confidence grows each time, but definitely takes time to achieve that confidence. Thanks for the link, I’m heading over there now! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Great advice. Staying in you comfort zone is a place where nothing is learned nor any growth achieved. I have been pushed by God so much to step out of my comfort zone on a regular basis. To keep stretching and learning. Keep doing so until you just flow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s great you get out of your comfort zone often. It seems like it makes it a little bit easier each time, if you’re in the habit of doing so. And yes, keep stretching and learning! Thank you! 🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

  6. Pingback: Meet and Greet: Summer Edition! | A Texan's View of Upstate New York

  7. So is comfort a way of standing still? I think you’re right that we grow more when we try new things….makes complete sense. Though, I feel I’ve tried many things & some, like relationships, lead back to a similar place. Is that failure?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think it’s failure. I think if we try something new, and it doesn’t go the way we’d like, we’ve still learned something. Even if it puts us back to a similar place. And even if comfort is standing still, there’s no harm in doing that once in awhile too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I dated a guy for a while who, although he was kind of a train wreck, said a few things that stuck with me. One was “you miss all the shots you don’t take.” Obviously not his quote, but one he referenced frequently. He lived his life taking really risky shots…but he has some great stories. I like to believe I’m one of them. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

