Happy Things

The first time I heard this quote, my girls were very young. My mom printed it out and framed it for me. It’s been on my desk ever since. It reminds me to take notice of the joys in life, both big and small. To embrace them.

My nephew and his wife had their third baby last week. I visited them in the hospital with my husband and our 21-year-old daughter, Talee. My great niece was two-days-old. She’s healthy, beautiful, perfect. Her cry is sweet. Her tiny hands and feet are precious.Her whole life is ahead of her, waiting for her to discover it.

When I held her, it reminded me of holding my two lovely babies. My husband held her, and I had flashbacks of him with our newborns. Talee held her, and I could easily see her becoming a mom.

Moments that take my breath away. Pure happiness.

Last week, Lulu of The Real Adventures of Becoming Me, nominated me for the Happiness Tag Challenge. Lulu is one of my oldest blogging friends. She’s amazing! Please visit her beautiful blog. I always appreciate her wonderful insight and inspiration. Thank you Lulu!

Five things that make me happy:

  1. Being with my family. I’m so excited because we leave tomorrow on a family vacation. We’re super close, and I’m very grateful for that. My parents live near us, so I see them often. I love to cook for everyone, and sit around the table eating, laughing, and sharing stories.
  2. The Fall. My favorite season is almost here! Cooler weather, boots, scarves, the fireplace on, football games, pumpkin lattes. Yay!
  3. Baking chocolate chip cookies for my husband. This is his favorite dessert, and it makes me happy to make him happy.
  4. Taking long walks in the mountains. It feels great to take a break from my busy life and go for a hike. I take deep breaths and can feel the stress leave my body. Being in nature reminds me to slow down.
  5. Writing. It’s therapeutic to put my thoughts on paper (or on the computer).  I never thought I’d love blogging as much as I do. Sometimes I start a story and it ends up taking a much different turn than I intended. And that’s fun. It gives my mind a chance to wander and to record my feelings.

Five songs that make me happy:

It’s hard to pick just a few. But here are some of my favorites…

  1. “Good to Be Alive” by Andy Grammer
  2. “Halo” by Beyonce
  3. “Freckles” by Natasha Bedingfield
  4. “H.O.L.Y” by Florida Georgia Line
  5. “Feel This Moment” by Pitbull and Christina Aguilera

True happiness needs to be passed on! I nominate the following bloggers (whose writing often brings me much gratitude and joy) to continue the happiness tag by writing about five things that make them happy and five songs that stir happiness in their hearts.

Happiness Tags:

Lori at Lori Greer in Portland

B.G. at Getting Through Anxiety

Tikeetha at A Thomas Point of View

Jen at The Anxiety Chronicles

itsgoodtobecrazysometimes at My Crazy Life

First image courtesy of here

Second image courtesy of here

 

39 thoughts on “Happy Things

  1. Yay!!! I love your happy things! Your list reminded me that it’s usually the simplest things that bring happiness, and also the things that are done with others and for others, like baking cookies for your husband and being with your family. I love chocolate chip cookies too, but you’re definitely right. Sharing them with someone makes them so much better! Thank you so much for your wonderful words, my friend! I hope you have a beautiful, peaceful, and lovely vacation with your family all around!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for sharing, it is always nice to know and learn what makes others happy. Because it becomes a source of inspiration and an eye opener. Sometimes, we take too much for granted and we miss living and therefore we miss being happy I feel.

    lovely – most enjoyable – speak soon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for those kind words. I agree… I also enjoy hearing what makes others happy. It reminds me to be mindful of the smaller things in life, that those are my inspiration and the source of true happiness 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Happiness Tag Challenge – A Thomas Point of View

  4. Beautiful post….made me remember this last trip to California and spending really good quality time with my kids, but the moment I am remembering is, I was sitting with my daughter at a pub, and her husband plays the guitar there…she came in after he started playing, during his first break he came over and kissed he on the forehead, just in that moment seeing the love transfer between him and my daughter brought tears to my eyes and even does as I write this…I am blessed that my daughter has found a wonderful man to love her completely……thanks for helping me remember the simple beautiful moments in my life with my family….and congrats for the new baby in the family….kat

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a beautiful, special moment. I hope to see that love expressed between my daughters and their future loves. I’m glad this post reminded you of that precious moment. And thank you kat, I’m excited to see my little great niece again soon 🙂
      Jenny

      Liked by 2 people

    • Hi, thank you so much for your nice comment! I just stopped by your blog and read your post. I loved it, there are many small things that make me happy 🙂 Nice to connect with you! I just followed your blog, look forward to reading more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

