Jump In!

This morning my husband and I went on a hike in the mountains and it was hot. Too hot to take our 12.5 year old black lab. But we wanted exercise, so off we went. The wild plants on the mountains were dry and crunchy, and I thought how quickly fire could spread.

When we got home, I was so sweaty and could think of only one thing. The pool. In minutes, I put on my bathing suit, grabbed a towel, and glided into the water. Aah. It was perfect.

It was quiet and peaceful. Our dog hadn’t come out yet, begging for me to play ball with him. My husband was inside. I gently swam and floated on a pool noodle. I wanted to stay there all day.

It reminded me of when I was a kid and my friends and I would do just that. We’d stay out for hours. We’d splash, play mermaids or Marco Polo, and rest on the lounge chairs, without a care in the world. We’d go inside only to eat and go to the bathroom.

Then I thought about how much fun it was when our daughters, Mackenzie and Talee, were younger. They’d have friends over and swim all day. I loved to watch them jump on rafts and perfect their cannon balls and dives. They’d do headstands and somersaults in the water, and see how long they could hold their breath.

Oh, to be a kid again.

I thought about those simple joys of childhood as I floated on my back, eyes closed. That’s when my reverie ended.

My husband did a cannon ball and made a huge splash. Our dog came out and barked and barked at Alex, wanting to make sure he was okay.

Then the fun began.

Alex and I swam, kicked, splashed, and played ball with our lab. I tried a headstand but was wobbly and fell right over. I hadn’t done that in probably twenty years. After a few attempts, I could hold my pose for a few seconds, and even straighten my legs and point my toes. Alex tried and actually did a great job.

I told him I wanted to stay in the pool all day. He said, “Why don’t you?” Which was really sweet, but I can’t, there’s always too much to do. My carefree childhood days are behind me.

But that hour of floating in the crystal clear water was heavenly. There’s no reason I can’t do it again tomorrow.

First image courtesy of here

Second image courtesy of here

Third image courtesy of here

22 thoughts on “Jump In!

    • Haha, yes!! My husband and I actually did that last night. Well, not midnight, but we took a walk after it got dark and then jumped in the pool. Night swimming is so much fun! I’m starting to like the heat wave we’re having, because if it’s cool, I don’t go swimming.

      Like

  1. We have an above the ground pool that I am waiting to put up. I’m waiting for it to stop raining. 😦 I don’t have a pool cover, so I have to wait until there is a stretch of good weather. I am hoping this happens soon, because I so desperately need to have a pool day like you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That sounds amazing!! I keep trying to convince my husband we need a larger pool. I have my “adult wading pool” (a 10′ x 30″ blue one with blow up ring on top). I didn’t even get that up this year! So sad!
    I love the saying on growing up….I always tell my kids I want to get old but not grow up. They tell me I am doing fine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t so sure how I’d do with a headstand, and my first try was terrible. When I was a kid, I loved doing underwater front and back somersaults. I haven’t attempted those yet! 😊

      Like

Leave a comment