10 Mantras to Reduce Stress and Anxiety

Serenity

I’ve had “white coat syndrome” since my early 20s. My blood pressure tends to surge at the doctor’s office. I don’t think I feel nervous. But deep inside, I must be. I can’t figure out why. My doctors and nurses are all very kind and easy to talk to.

I get frustrated because I can’t control my blood pressure in a medical setting. This is a concern, especially  because I have hypertension and take medication for it. And it’s well controlled — at least at home.

When I have a doctor appointment, I do my best to relax on the way there. I take deep breaths, listen to music, and tell myself I’ll be fine and not to think about it. But that makes me more nervous and I can literally feel my numbers rising.

Worrying-1

What am I so afraid of? My doctor has never gotten angry because it’s too high. He might look concerned, and we discuss how my numbers are at home. He takes it again at the end of the appointment, and it’s always in the normal range.

I’ve thought of different ways to help calm myself when I’m sitting in the waiting room. These techniques also help control my panic attacks.

The first tip is to use deep breathing and imagery. I imagine myself at the beach. I think about how it feels when grains of sand slide through my fingers. I smell suntan lotion,  taste the salty water, see shades of blues and greens in the ocean, and hear waves crash on the shore.

The second idea is to repeat mantras while I’m deep breathing. I like mantras because they’re short and simple, and encourage me to be positive and mindful.

It feels like I’m breathing in calm and breathing out nervousness.

Here’s what I do. I take a deep breath in and at the same time, say (in my head) the first part of a mantra. Then I exhale slowly and say the second half.

Like this: take a deep breath and think, “Life is”… slowly exhale and think…”good.”

My Favorite Mantras

I see my doctor in a couple of months. Until then, I’m going to practice my breathing and mantra exercises.

I’ve recovered from panic disorder. I’m hopeful that one day I can say I no longer have “white coat syndrome.”

Not to worry. I got this.

Take a deep breath...

 

29 thoughts on “10 Mantras to Reduce Stress and Anxiety

  1. Just a question. Do they take your blood pressure once or twice in a visit? I ask because they used to take mine first thing and it was always high (I am also on blood pressure meds) and then they started taking it a second time near the end of the visit and it was always much better. I think I had less anxiety by that time or something.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Usually twice. Well, always twice if it’s too high the first time. And the second time is always lower. I know this happens to a lot of people, the nurse always tells me that to make me feel better. Sometimes I think I’m nervous because I don’t want to “fail” the test. Thanks for sharing your experience. It truly helps to know I’m not alone in this!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this! I’ve learned to use breathing and mantras during anxious times, and it’s amazing what a difference it can make. I hope it works for you during your upcoming appointment. If not, though, at least you’ll get the day-to-day benefits. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate going to the doctor. I always think something really horrible will befall me. I mostly just say “everything will be okay,” but you have some other great ones there, like “dare to be present” and “I am not my anxiety.” I will keep those in mind the next time I go to the doctor. Lovely post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, and I’m glad you like some of those mantras. Hope they help. I totally understand about not liking to go to the doctor. But I’m always glad when the appointment is over and I think, that wasn’t so bad😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: 10 Mantras to Reduce Stress and Anxiety — Peace from Panic | Embracing Life Tribe

  5. Thank you for sharing your struggle with this situation. You are not the only one. This has been a problem for my son. We have helped him by taking his blood pressure at home when he is relaxed so that we could get an accurate reading. Is there someone who could do this for you at home or in a place where you can be calm? Just a thought. Sending love your way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I take my blood pressure at home, usually once/week. It’s rarely high at home. It’s just when I’m at the doctor’s office that it spikes up. At home, I take it when I feel calm. But even sometimes at home, I feel nervous and practice deep breathing and say a mantra. It helps! All the best to you and your son. xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome, I’m glad you found it useful! I know it’s hard to stop the anxiety. My best way is to take a really deep breath, hold for about five seconds, then slowly exhale. And think of a positive mantra. 🙂

      Like

  6. Congratulations on your progress and thank you for sharing with such honesty. I play golf a lot, and I’ve been told I have great potential, but in competitions nervousness and anxiety tends to get the better of me. I will try your advice to overcome this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Excellent share! You can also get an app like “Thinkup” which allows you to record yourself saying mantras, and you play it back with music in the background. It helped me manifest many goals. 🙂 ~Dr. K

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment